Corvette show raises $2,400 for Pottsboro, Texas Kids Club

POTTSBORO — A total of $2,400 was raised for the nonprofit Pottsboro Kids Club during the 10th annual Texoma Area Corvette Show. The day-long event was held May 5 in front of the Kids Club in downtown Pottsboro.

Sixty-three entries made up the show, with contestants coming from throughout north Texas and southern Oklahoma. Results of the competition were as follows:

1953-62: first, Bobby Davis, The Colony – 1959 convertible; and runners-up, Gerry and Linda Boren, Rockwall – 1960 convertible, and Mike Brady, Colbert, Oklahoma -1957 convertible;

1963-67: first, Steve Allison, Wichita Falls – 1965 convertible; and runner-up, John Hart, Gainesville – 1964 convertible;

1968-82: first, Mike and Donna Reese, Tuttle, Oklahoma – 1972 convertible; and runners up, Robert Shellberg, Carrollton – 1982 coupe, and John and Suzanne Main, Heath – 1975 convertible;

1984-96: first, Ralph and Sonja Teehee, Carrollton – 1992 coupe; and runners up, Mike Tarzis, Sherman, 1990 convertible, and Gaye Sturgill, Sadler, 1996 convertible;

1997-2004, first, Sharon Troster, Garland – 2004 coupe; and runners up, cArl Walker, Garland, 2003 coupe, and Terry Walker, Bedford, 2002 coupe;

2005-newer: first, Jim Tubbs, Cedar Hill, 2008 Z06; and runners up, Johnny Downs, Sadler, 2007 Z06, and Norma Hart, Gainesville, 2007 pace car;

Custom: first, Wayne Allen, Murphy – 1997 coupe; and runners up, J.K. Plyler, Pottsboro, 2008 Z06, and Robb Bertelsen, Denton – 1999 coupe.

Special business-sponsored awards went to: Ken Dobbs of Plano – 1963 coupe; Mike and Dona Reese, Tuttle, Oklahoma, 1972 covertible; and Bobby Davis, The Colony, 1959 convertible.

The 1959 black and silver convertible exhibited by Bobby Davis of The Colony won the Best of Show award.

Other awards presented included: Pottsboro Kids Club Kids’ Choice Award – Terry Walker,Bedford – 2002 coupe; best display — Phil and Karen Pitala, Allen – 2003 coupe; Corvette “I’d most like to own,” Jim Tubbs, Cedar Hill. ]

Winning the annual Pottsboro Kids Club Coloring Contest were Landon Dunaway, first, Neidi Nipper, second, and Danya Walsh, third.

The date for the 2013 show has been scheduled for May 4.


Leave a Reply